U-19 Asia Cup knocking the door of Nepali Cricket

U-19 Asia Cup knocking the door of Nepali Cricket

Nepal u19 Team

The 2016 edition of U-19 Asia cup to be hosted in Sri Lanka is just about a month away now. The tournament in which Nepal will face the test playing nations will be a tough challenge since Nepali cricket team has not started any preparation for the tournament yet.

Players are still unknown about the selection and training camps. In the absence of CAN, the National Sports Council (NSC) should take the initiative for squad selection which seems very passive till now. This state has created confusion in players and cricket fans. Nepal has been performing very well in U-19 age group tournaments.

Nepal recently played at the U-19 World cup and performed brilliantly to qualify for the second round of the tournament. The everlasting problem of Nepali cricket is poor domestic structure and poor management. The same problem seems to be affecting the preparation of young guns. This poor management has led many young talents to leave cricket before they could show their skills in National team.

The Youth Asia cup was started in 2012 but Nepal has never made it to the knockout stages. Nepal however finished as the runner ups in ACC U-19 Asia cup 2014. The Nepali Youth team won ACC U-19 Elite cup for 4 consecutive times finishing as the winners in 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2007. The poor domestic structure has not helped Nepal to flourish their success on other levels.

Talking about the tournament, Nepali side have shown big potentials on recent U-19 world cup but we shouldn't expect too much from the side that are short of preparation for the tournament. We can expect them to perform with the hunger, passion and determination they have to succeed. The tournament starts on December 8 and the final will be held on December 22 on Sri Lanka. The tournament includes 8 teams; 4 Test playing nations and 4 Associate nations. Hosts Sri Lanka will participate in the tournament with Nepal, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Singapore and Malaysia. India are the defending champions of the tournament winning the recent edition in 2014.