Rayudu and du Plessis shine as CSK register win over Mumbai

Rayudu and du Plessis shine as CSK register win over Mumbai

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) started their journey in the 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) with a win as they defeated the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) by 5 wickets in the first match of the tournament.

Chasing a target of 163 runs to win, Chennai didn't get a good start. Both the openers Murali Vijay (1) and Shane Watson (4) were out cheaply with just 6 runs on the board. Ambati Rayudu and Faf du Plessis added 115 runs for third wicket before Rayudu was caught and bowled by the leg spinner Rahul Chahar. Rayudu scored 3 sixes and 6 fours in his 48 ball 71 and was named Player of the Match for his match winning knock.

du Plessis remained unbeaten on 58 runs from 44 balls which included 6 fours. Sam Curran played a cameo of 6 ball 18 with 2 sixes and a four. All five bowlers used by Mumbai, Boult, Pattinson, Krunal, Bumrah and Chahar shared a wicket each.

Also Read: IPL 2020 : Complete Fixtures

Earlier, Chennai won the toss and elected to bowl first. Mumbai got off to a good start with Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock adding 46 runs for the first wicket in 4.4 overs. Rohit hold out to Curran off Piyush Chawala while de Kock was caught by Watson off Curran. Left handed Saurabh Tiwary was the top scorer for Mumbai with 42 runs off 31 balls including 3 fours and a six. Suryakumar Yadav (17), Hardik Pandya (14), Kieron Pollard (18) and Krunal Pandya (3) couldn't get going and Mumbai kept losing wickets regularly to finish their innings at 162/9.

Lungi Ngidi was expensive giving away 38 runs from his 4 overs but ended with 3 wickets. Ravindra Jadeja was too expensive as he finished with 2-42. Deepak Chahar picked up 2 wickets conceeding 32 runs while Sam Curran and Piyush Chawala shared a wicket each.

Match Summary :
Chennai Super Kings 166 for 5 (Rayudu 71, du Plessis 58*)
Mumbai Indians 162 for 9 (Tiwary 42, de Kock 33, Ngidi 3-38, D Chahar 2-32, Jadeja 2-42)
by 5 wickets