PM Cup Final : Police and APF face each other

PM Cup Final : Police and APF face each other

Nepal Police Club and APF Club are competing for the title of Prime Minister's Cup National Twenty20 Cricket on Wednesday. Police defeated Bagmati Pradesh by 50 runs and APF defeated another departmental rival Tribhuvan Army by 47 runs in the semi-finals on Tuesday,

150 run opening stand between openers Pradeep Airee and Aasif Sheikh along with Lokesh Bam's explosive half century guided APF to a 47 run victory over Army. Lokesh blasted 66 runs from just 18 balls completing his half century from 14 balls. This is the fastest half century in Nepali domestic T20 cricket. Lokesh hit 9 sixes and 2 fours in his innings. Earlier, openers Pradip and Asif shared 150 runs for the first wicket. Asif was dismissed for 84 off 43 balls with 10 fours and 5 sixes while Pradip remained unbeaten on 57 runs. Pradip hit seven fours and one six off 53 balls.

Asif and Pradip are in excellent rhythm in the ongoing competition. These two are at the top two of the list of highest run scorers in the competition. Asif has scored 218 runs in five innings, including two fifties. Pradip has also added 206 runs including 2 half centuries. He is the only one to cross the 200-run mark.

In reply, Army managed to score only 183 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Openers Bhim Sarki (35) and Hari Bahadur Chauhan (22) shared an initial 55-run stand but failed to find the target. Army's Tul Thapa (2), Kushal Malla (7) and captain Binod Bhandari (1) got out cheaply. Rajesh Pulami and Sumit Shrestha shared 57 runs for the sixth wicket but could not play long innings. Rajesh scored 38 off 21 balls with 4 sixes and Sumit scored 24 off 18 balls. While Bikram Sob added 14 runs, Shahab Alam remained unbeaten on 21 runs.

APF captain Sharad Bheshavkar took 3 wickets for 9 runs. Bhuvan Karki and Avinash Bohora bagged 2 wickets each while Kishore Mahato and Deepak Bohara shared a wicket each.

In the other semi-finals, Pawan Sarraf excelled with bat while Dipendra Singh Airee excelled with the ball. Police Club defeated Bagmati Pradesh to secure a place in the finals. Police won the toss and elected to field. Pawan struck three sixes and three fours in 54 balls. Anil Sah added 25 runs and Aarif Sheikh added 12 runs. Dilip Nath scored an unbeaten 31 off 16 balls with 2 sixes and 2 fours. Police got extra 15 runs. Nandan Yadav and Rajan Dhakal of Bagmati took 2 wickets each.

Police had to play the match without regular players Kushal Bhurtel and Karan KC. These two players could not attend due to health reasons.

In reply, Dipendra Singh Airee bowled brilliantly to restrict Bagmati to 105 runs. Unable to score from the bat, he took 5 important wickets of Bagmati by conceeding 10 runs in 4 overs. Player of the Match Dipendra dismissed Gyanendra Malla, Vipin Acharya and Suman Sunwar. Apart from Adil Khan (27) and captain Gyanendra (23), all the other batsmen were dismissed cheaply.