Pakistan win Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan win Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan thrash India by 180 runs in the finals to lift ICC Champions Trophy 2017. A century fromFakhar Zaman and early blows by Mohammad Amir helped Pakistan to outplay India in the big finals.

India won the toss and invited Pakistan to bat first. Pakistan got a solid start from Azhar Ali and Fakhar Zaman as they put on 128 runs for the first wicket. Azhar was runout for 59 runs while Fakhar Zaman completed his maiden century and was caught by Ravindra Jadeja of Hardik Pandya for 114 runs. Babar Azam played well for his 52 ball 46 while Mohammad Hafeez smashed 37 ball 57 to take the Pakistan's total to 338/4 in 50 overs. Bhuvneswor Kumar bowled well for India as he finished with the figures of 1-44.

India in reply never looked like to get close to that Pakistan total. Mohammad Amir trapped Rohit Sharma for a LBW in the very first over of the Indian innings. Virat Kohli was caught by Shadab Khan off Amir in the 3rd over as India couln't recover from the early loss. Hardik Pandya smashed 76 runs off 43 balls but a miscommunication in running with Ravindra Jadeja got him runout. India was allout for just 158 runs. Mohammad Amir (3-16) and Hasan Ali (3-19) were the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan as they picked up 3 wickets each while Shadab Khan bagged 2 wickets.

Fakhar Zaman was named Man of the Match for his match winning ton. Hasan Ali was awarded Player of the Series as well as Bowler of the Series while Shikhar Dhawan was judged Batsman of the Series.

Match Summary:

Pakistan 338 for 4 (Zaman 114, Azhar 59, Hafeez 57*)


India 158 (Pandya 76, Amir 3-16, Hasan 3-19)

by 180 runs

Full Scorecard

Award Winners:

Golden ball: Hasan Ali (13 wickets at 13.69)

Player of the Tournament: Hasan Ali

Golden Bat: Shikhar Dhawan (338 runs at 67.60)

Man of the Match:Fakhar Zaman