New Zealand announce central contracts for 2020-21 season

New Zealand announce central contracts for 2020-21 season

New Zealand Cricket have announced their central contract list for the 2020-21 season. The Kiwis have handed out the contracts to 20 players including pace bowler Kyle Jamieson, spinner Ajaz Patel and batsman Devon Conway as the new entrant.

Surprisingly, Collin Munro's name is not present in the list. The hard-hitting opener has been the team’s mainstay in the T20 format. However, New Zealand Cricket did not consider him worthy enough to earn a central contract.

“It’s really exciting to offer contracts to Kyle, Ajaz and Devon who have all impressed over the past 12 months,” New Zealand’s selection manager Gavin Larsen said.

Gavin added : “Devon’s form with the bat across all three formats these past two seasons made him impossible to ignore and he’s going to be a great option to add to the batting mix. We see Ajaz as the incumbent test spinner at present and he’ll be looking to stamp his mark on that spot after some strong efforts with the ball in the subcontinent.”

Players offered central contracts for 2020-21:

Tom Blundell

Trent Boult

Devon Conway

Colin de Grandhomme

Lockie Ferguson

Martin Guptill

Matt Henry

Kyle Jamieson

Tom Latham

Henry Nicholls

James Neesham

Ajaz Patel

Mitchell Santner

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee

Ross Taylor

Neil Wagner

BJ Watling

Kane Williamson

Will Young