Mumbai win IPL for the fourth time

Mumbai win IPL for the fourth time

See Full Scorecard

Mumbai Indians defended 149 in the final of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) to lift the title for the fourth time. Mumbai were the champions in 2013, 2015 and 2017 previously.

Shane Watson nearly took the game away from Mumbai as he scored 80 runs off 59 balls including 8 fours and 4 sixes. Another opener Faf du Plessis made a 13 ball 26. The only other batsman with double digit score was Dwayne Bravo with run a ball 15. Jasprit Bumrah once again delivered when it mattered the most for Mumbai as he finished with the figures of 2-14 from 4 overs. Rahul Chahar picked a wicket giving away just 14 runs from his quota of 4 overs. Lasith Malinga was a bit expensive despite defending 9 runs off the last over.

Earlier, Mumbai elected to bat first after winning the toss. Mumbai finished on 149/8. Kieron Pollard was the top scorer with unbeaten 41 runs from 25 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes. Quinton de Kock smashed 29 runs from 17 balls while Ishan Kishan made 23 runs. Deepak Chahar was the pick of the bowlers for Chennai picking up 3 wickets for 26 runs. Shardul Thakur and Imran Tahir shared 2 wickets each.

Man of the Final : Jasprit Bumrah
Orange Cap : David Warner
Purple Cap : Imran Tahir
Emerging Player : Shubman Gill
Fastest 50 : Hardik Pandya
Perfect Catch : Kieron Pollard
Stylish Player : KL Rahul
Game Changer : Rahul Chahar
MVP, Super Striker : Andre Russell
Fair Play : Sunrisers Hyderabad
Pitch & Ground : Mohali, Hyderabad

Match Summary :
Mumbai Indians 149 for 8 (Pollard 41*, Chahar 3-26)
Chennai Super Kings 148 for 7 (Watson 80, Bumrah 2-14)
by1 run