Mumbai win 5th IPL title, two in a row

Mumbai win 5th IPL title, two in a row

Mumbai Indians have won the Indian Premier League Cricket (IPL) title for a record fifth time.

Defending champions Mumbai defeated Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets in the final of the 13th edition. Delhi, which made it to the final for the first time, failed to lift the title against mighty Mumbai. Mumbai have defeated Delhi in all four matches this season.

Mumbai chased down the target of 157 runs losing 5 wickets with 8 balls to spare. Captain Rohit Sharma (68) and Ishan Kishan (33) were the stars with the bat for Mumbai. Quinton de Kock scored 20 runs and Surya Kumar Yadav scored 19 runs. Anrich Nortje of Delhi took 2 wickets while Kagiso Rabada and Marcus Stoinis shared a wicket each.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals won the toss at the Dubai International Cricket Ground and finished their innings at 156/7 from allotted 20 overs. Shikhar Dhawan added 15 runs in Delhi's innings as captain Shreyas Air scored 65 and Rishabh Pant 56 runs. Other Delhi batsmen could not touch the double digit score. Mumbai's Trent Boult took 3 wickets and Nathan Coulter Nile took 2 wickets. Jayant Yadav took one wicket.

Mumbai had also beaten Delhi in the qualifiers to secure a place in the finals. Delhi defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the second qualifier to secure the final clash with Mumbai.

IPL 2020 Awards

Fairplay Award : Mumbai Indians
Emerging Player of the Season : Devdutt Padikkal
Game Changer of the Season : KL Rahul
Super Striker of the Season : Kieron Pollard
Most Sixes Award : Ishan Kishan
Power Player of the Season : Trent Boult
Purple Cap : Kagiso Rabada
Orange Cap : KL Rahul
Most Valuable Player : Jofra Archer