Mumbai miss out on playoffs despite victory over Hyderabad

Mumbai miss out on playoffs despite victory over Hyderabad

Defending champions Mumbai Indians failed to qualify for the knockout stage of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) despite defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad by 42 runs in their last league match.

With the win, Mumbai and Kolkata both accumulated 14 points but Kolkata overtook Mumbai in net runrate to finish the league at 4th position in points table. The other teams to qualify for the playoffs are Delhi Capitals, Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

IPL 2021 : IPL 2021 - Points Table, Stats and Updates

Mumbai needed a win with a margin of 171 runs or above in order to move ahead of Kolkata in net runrate. Mumbai won the toss and elected to bat first in an attempt to put on big total in their first innings. Mumbai got off to a flier with Ishan Kishan smashing balls all over the ground. Mumbai were 83 / 1 from at the end of powerplay after 6 overs. Kishan blasted 84 runs off just 32 balls before edging one to keeper. Kishan's innings included 11 fours and 4 sixes. Skipper Rohit Sharma scored 18 while hard hitting Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard both didn't contribute much with 10 and 13 runs to their name. Suryakumar Yadav played well for his 40 ball 82 as he smashed 13 fours and 3 sixes.

Mumbai finished on 235 / 9 from 20 overs which is their highest total in any T20 match. Mumbai needed to restrict Hyderabad to 65 runs or below in order to qualify for playoffs which they couldn't. Hyderabad fell short of the target by 42 runs with Manish Pandey top scoring for them with 69 runs. Jasprit Bumrah, Nathan Coulter-Nile and James Neesham picked up 2 wickets each for Mumbai.

Delhi Capital and Chennai Super Kings will batlle against each other in the first qualifier while Kolkata Knight Riders will face Royale Challengers Bangalore in the first eliminator. The winner of eliminator will face the loosing team of qualifier for the second spot in the finals while the winner of qualifier will directly qualify for the finals.