Mumbai into the finals of IPL 2017

Mumbai into the finals of IPL 2017

Mumbai Indians completed a convincing victory over Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier at Bengalore to secure a place in the finals of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017. Rising Pune Supergiants have already secured a place in the finals by defeating Mumbai in the first qualifier.

Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl first. Jasprit Bumrah and Karn Sharma were brilliant with the ball as KKR was allout for 107 runs. Karn Sharma finished with the figures of 4-16 from his 4 overs while Bumrah was economical for his figures of 3-7. Surya Kumar Yadav was the top scorer for KKR with 31 runs. Ishan Jaggi played well for his 28 runs while no other batsmen could give significant contribution.

Mumbai in reply were once struggling at 3-34. Skipper Rohit Sharma (26) and Krunal Pandya (45*) put on a 54 run partnership to take Mumbai back on track. Piyush Chawla was hitfor 16 runs off his last over before Rohit Sharma fell to Nathan Coulter-Nile in the 13th over.Krunal donned the aggressor’s role, hitting eight boundaries in his 30-ball stay while his skipper played the anchoring role. Neither took too many chances and rotated the strike while punching the bad deliveries to the fence.

Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants will comptete against each other in the finals on Sunday at Hyderabad.

Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians 111 for 4 (Krunal 45*, Chawla 2-34)


Kolkata Knight Riders 107 (Suryakumar 31, Karn 4-16, Bumrah 3-7)

by six wickets