Kolkata win a thriller to set final clash with Chennai

Kolkata win a thriller to set final clash with Chennai

 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) by 3 wickets in a thriller to secure a spot in the finals of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) on Wednesday.

Chasing a target of 136 runs to win, KKR were on a strong position at 2-123 after 16 overs. Delhi bowlers scripted a dramatic run of play as KKR lost 4 batsmen for duck including Dinesh Karthik, Eoin Morgan, Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine in quick succession. Rahul Tripathi hit a six off Ravichandan Ashwin in the penultimate ball of the inning to secure a win for his side. 

Openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer provided a solid opening partnership as the duo added 96 runs from 12.2 overs. Iyer made 55 runs from 41 balls while Gill played well for his run a ball 46. Tripathi remained unbeaten on 12 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin, Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada picked up 2 wickets each for Delhi.


Match Summary :
Kolkata Knight Riders 136 for 7 (Venkatesh 55, Gill 46, Ashwin 2-27, Rabada 2-23. Nortje 2-31)
Delhi Capitals 135 for 5 (Dhawan 36, Shreyas 30*, Varun 2-26)
by 3 wickets