India take 1-0 lead with an easy win over Srilanka

India take 1-0 lead with an easy win over Srilanka

India defeated Srilanka comprehensively by 62 runs in the first match of the 3 match T20 series in Lucknow. Chasing a target of 200 runs to win, Srilanka were restricted to 137/6 as the home side took a 1-0 lead in the series.

Earlier, Srilanka won the toss and elected to field first. India got off to a great start with skipper Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan as the duo added 111 runs for the first wicket from 11.5 overs. Rohit was bowled by Lahiru Kumara for a 32 ball 44 which included 2 fours and a six.

Ishan then put on 44 run stand with Shreyas Iyer for the second wicket before getting caught by Liyange off Dasun Shanaka. Ishan scored 89 runs from 56 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes. Iyer provided the finishing touch with his brilliant innings of 57 runs from just 28 deliveries with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Ravindra Jadeja remained unbeaten on 3 runs as India posted a challenging total of 199/2  from their allotted quota of 20 overs.

Srilanka didn't got a good start as Pathum Nissanka was bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the very first ball of the second innings. Charith Asalanka was the top scorer for Srilanka as he remained unbeaten on 53 runs. Chamika Karunaratne scored 21 while Dushmantha Chameera scored 24 runs for the visiting side.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was the pick of the bowlers for Srilanka as he finished with the figures of 9/2 from 2 overs. Venkatesh Iyer picked up 2 wickets while Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadjeja shared a wicket each.

Ishan Kishan was named Player of the Match for his match winning knock with the bat.

Match Summary :
India 199 for 2 (Kishan 89, Shreyas 57*, Shanaka 1-19)
SriLanka 137 for 6 (Asalanka 53*, Bhuvneshwar 2-9, V Iyer 2-36)
by 62 runs