India take 1-0 lead with a 5 wicket win over New Zealand

India take 1-0 lead with a 5 wicket win over New Zealand

India took a 1-0 lead in the 3 match T20 series after defeating the visiting side by 5 wickets in the first match at Jaipur. 

India chased down a target of 165 runs in the 20th over with 5 wickets in hand. India got off to a good start with openers KL Rahul and skipper Rohit Sharma adding 50 runs for the first wicket from 5.1 overs. Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav then put on a 59 run stand for the second wicket. Rahul made 15 runs while Rohit scored a 36 ball 48. Suryakumar was the top scorer for the home side with 62 runs. He faced 40 balls and struck 6 fours and 3 sixes. Rishabh Pant remained unbeaten on run a ball 17.

Trent Boult picked up 2 wickets while Tim Southee, Mitchell Santner and Daryl Mitchell shared a wicket each for the visiting side.

Earlier, India won the toss and elected to field first. New Zealand finished on 164/6 from their allotted quota of 20 overs. Martin Guptill (70) and Mark Chapman (63) were the stars with the bat for the Black Caps. The duo added 109 runs for the second wicket after Daryl Mitchell fell early in the very first over of the match. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravichandran Ashwin shared 2 wickets each for India while Deepak Chahar and Mohammad Siraj bagged a wicket each.

Suryakumar Yadav was named Player of the Match for his match winning knock with the bat.

Match Summary :
India 166 for 5 (Suryakumar 62, Rohit 48, Boult 2-31)
New Zealand 164 for 6 (Guptill 70, Chapman 63, Ashwin 2-23, Bhuvneshwar 2-24)
by 5 wickets