India complete 3-0 clean sweep against New Zealand

India complete 3-0 clean sweep against New Zealand

India completed a 3-0 clean sweep in the 3 match T20I series against New Zealand after a 73 run victor in the third and last match of the series at Kolkata.

India finished on 184/7 in their first innings. Skipper Rohit Sharma was the top scorer for them with 56 runs at the top of the order. Rohit smaashed 5 fours and 3 sixes. He put on a 69 run opening stand with Ishan Kishan from 6.2 overs to provide a solid start. Kishan made a 21 ball 29. Shreyas Iyer (25), Venkatesh Iyer (20), Harshal Patel (18) and Deepak Chahar (21) contributed with the bat for the home team. 

Mitchell Santner was the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand as he finished with the figures of 3-27 from 4 overs.

Chasing a target of 185 runs to win, the Kiwis were bowled out for 111 runs from 17.2 overs. Martin Guptill played well for his 36 ball 51. Tim Seifert made 17 runs and Lockie Ferguson made 14 runs. Apart from these three batsmen, none other could score double digit score. Axar Patel was brilliant with the ball as he picked up 3 wickets conceeding just 9 runs from 3 overs. Harshal Patel bagged 2 wickets while Deepak Chahar, Venkatesh Iyer and Yuzvendra Chahal shared a wicket each.

Axar Patel was named Player of the Match while skipper Rohit Sharma was awarded Player of the Series.

Match Summary :
India 184 for 7 (Rohit 56, Kishan 29, Chahar 21*, Santner 3-27)
New Zealand 111 (Guptill 51, Axar 3-9, Harshal 2-23)
by 73 runs