India announce squad for T20 World Cup 2021

India announce squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 15 member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. India are placed in Group 2 along with Pakistan and Afghanistan. Two more teams will join them from Round 1 of the tournament.

Some interesting decision can be observed looking at the squad. The return of Ravichandran Ashwin is a huge decision. The off-spinner last played limited-overs cricket for India in 2017, after which he was restricted to Test cricket. Likes of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal doesn't find a place.

India's skipper in the latest series against Srilanka Shikhar Dhawan too misses out. Ishan Kishan will be the second choice wicketkeeper batsman and can bat at any position.

Former World Cup winning Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been appointed as mentor of the team for this tournament.

Full Squad

Virat Kohli (c)
Rohit Sharma
KL Rahul
Suryakumar Yadav
Rishabh Pant (wk)
Ishan Kishan (wk)
Hardik Pandya
Ravindra Jadeja
Rahul Chahar
Ravichandran Ashwin
Axar Patel
Varun Chakravarthy
Jasprit Bumrah
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Mohammad Shami

Stand-by : Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur