England Squad for Cricket World Cup 2019

England Squad for Cricket World Cup 2019

England have announced their 15 men squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 going to be held in England and Wales.

To everyone’s surprise, Jofra Archer has been left out from the world cup squad but is named in the squads for the Ireland and Pakistan one-day internationals. Jofra could still make it to the final squad in time for the first World Cup match on 30 May based on his performances in Ireland and Pakistan series.

The pace options for the Eoin Morgan-led preliminary squad thus remain Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Tom Curran and Ben Stokes.

England’s selectors clarified that the squad announced on Wednesday, 17 April, was a “preliminary” one, and that England would finalise their final 15-man World Cup squad after the five-match ODI series against Pakistan, which culminates on 19 May.

“In line with ICC regulations, we have to name a preliminary squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup before April 23. However, all 17 players named in the Royal London ODIs against Pakistan can stake a claim to be in the final 15-man squad, finalised at the end of that series,” said Ed Smith, the national selector.

15 Men Squad of England for Cricket World Cup 2019

Eoin Morgan (c)
Moeen Ali
Johhny Bairstow
Jos Butler
Tom Curran
Joe Denly
Alex Hales
Liam Plunkett
Adil Rashid
Joe Root
Jason Roy
Ben Stokes
David Willey
Chris Woakes
Mark Wood