England into World Cup Final after 27 years

England into World Cup Final after 27 years

England march into the finals of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 defeating Australia comprehensively by 8 wickets in the semifinal at Birmingham.

New Zealand have already secured their place in the finals by defeating India in the first semi final. With England and New Zealand competing for the title, the Cricket World Cup is bound to have a newname as the world champions.

The last time England played World Cup Finals was way back in 1992 when Pakistan got better of them. England hadn't reached even semi finals since then. New Zealand on the other hand, were defeated by Australia in previous edition in the finals.

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first. English bowlers had a dream start as Australia were struggling at 3-14 with David Warner, Aaron Finch and Peter Handscomb back to pavilion. Alex Carey (46) along with Steve Smith (85) added 103 runs fourth wicket before Carey was caught by James Vince off Adil Rashid. Mitchell Starc played a 36 ball 29 towards the end.

Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid picked up 3 wickets each for England. Jofra Archer bagged 2 while Mark Wood picked up a wicket.

England in reply got off to a brilliant start with Jason Roy and Johnny Bairstow. Roy in particular looked really good before he was given caught out by the umpire even though the reply suggested he didn't touch the ball. Bairstow made 34 while Roy scored 85 runs off 65 balls with 9 fours and 5 sixes. Joe Root and Eoin Morgan remained unbeaten on 49 and 45 respectively as England chased down the target quite easily with 8 wickets and 107 balls remaining.

Match Summary :
England (Roy 85, Root 49*, Morgan 45*)
Australia 223 (Smith 85, Woakes 3-20, Rashid 3-54)
by 8 wickets