Delhi and Bangalore register wins as Delhi climb to top

Delhi and Bangalore register wins as Delhi climb to top

Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore registered wins in the ongoing 13th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) from their respective matches on Saturday.

Delhi clinched victory in a high scoring match against KKR

Delhi Capitals 228 for 4 (Iyer 88*, Shaw 66, Pant 38, Russell 2-29)
Kolkata Knight Riders 210 for 8 (Rana 58, Morgan 44, Tripathi 36, Nortje 3-33)
by 18 runs

Delhi defeated Kolkata by 18 runs and climb to the top position in points table. Delhi finished on 228/4 with skipper Shreyas Iyer's unbeaten 38 ball 88. Kolkata fell short of the target by 18 runs as they were restricted to 210/8 from 20 overs.

Shreyas Iyer's unbeaten innings consisted of 6 sixes and 7 fours with an strike rate of over 230. Opener Prithvi Shaw scored 66 runs off 41 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Wicketkeeper batsman Rishabh Pant scored a brisk 38 runs from 17 balls.

With some good death bowling in final few overs, Delhi won the game at the Sharjah Cricket Ground. After Marcus Stoinis gave away 24 runs in the 17th over and Kagiso Rabada conceeded 23 runs in the 18th over, Kolkata needed 31 runs in the last two overs to reach the target of 229 runs.

As Anrich Nortje conceeded just 5 runs and dismissed Eoin Morgan in the 19th overwhile Stoinis took the wicket of Rahul Tripathi in the last over, Kolkata couldn't reach the target. Morgan, who smashed three sixes in a row off Rabada, hit 44 off 18 balls with one four and five sixes while Tripathi hit 36 off 16 balls with three fours and three sixes.


Kohli back to form as RCB outplay Rajasthan

Royal Challengers Bangalore 158 for 2 (Padikkal 63, Kohli 72*, Archer 1-18)
Rajasthan Royals 154 for 6 (Lomror 47, Tewatia 24*, Chahal 3-24)
by 8 wickets

Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Rajasthan Royals by 8 wickets in the first match on Saturday after Virat Kohli returned to form and scored an unbeaten 72 runs.

Kohli hit 7 fours and 2 sixes off 53 balls. Opener Devdutt Padikkal continued his good run of form scoring 63 runs off 45 balls. Padikkal and Kohli shared a decisive 99-run stand for the second wicket.

Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Rajasthan could not prove the decision right and lost wickets at regular intervals. Rajasthan lost 6 wickets in 20 overs and managed to score only 154 runs. Mahipal Lomror was the top scorer for Rajasthan with 47 runs off 39 balls.

Player of the Match Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers for Bangalore as he finished with the figures of 3-24 from his quota of 4 overs.