Chennai into the finals of IPL for 9th time

Chennai into the finals of IPL for 9th time

Chennai Super Kings have secured a place in the finals of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) defeating Delhi Capitals by 4 wickets in the first qualifier on Sunday.

Chennai won the toss and elected to field first. Delhi finished on 172/5 from 20 overs. Opener Prithvi Shaw was the top scorer for them with 60 runs at the top of the order. Shaw faced 34 deliveries and scored 3 sixes along with 7 fours. Skipper Rishabh Pant provided the momentum towards the end with his unbeaten 51 runs from 35 balls including 3 fours and 2 sixes. Shimron Hetmyer played well for his 24 ball 37.

Josh Hazlewood picked up 2 wickets while Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali and Dwayne Bravo shared a wicket each for Chennai.

Chasing a target of 173 runs to win, Chennai lost Faf du Plessis early. Robin Uthappa and Ruturaj Gaikwad added 110 runs for second wicket to take their team to a strong position. Robin Uthappa made 63 runs from 44 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes. Gaikwad continued his brilliant form with the bat as he blasted a 50 ball 70 which included 5 fours and 2 sixes. Skipper MS Dhoni remained unbeaten on 18 runs from just 6 balls. Dhoni scored 3 fours and a six to guide his team to victory.

Chennai have now qualified for the finals and this will be the ninth time they will be playing finals of this tournament. Despite the loss, Delhi still have a chance as they will face the winner of the first eliminator hoping for a place in the finals. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will compete in the eliminator the winner of which will fight Delhi for the second spot in finals.

Match Summary:
Chennai Super Kings 173 for 6 (Gaikwad 70, Uthappa 63*, T Curran 3-29)
Delhi Capitals 172 for 5 (Shaw 60, Pant 51*, Hazlewood 2-29)
by 4 wickets