Australia lift their first T20 World Cup title

Australia lift their first T20 World Cup title

Australia won the ICC Mens T20 World Cup on Sunday after opening batsman David Warner shined bright with the bat in the finals. Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final with 7 balls to spare, with Mitchell Mars scoring a half-century along with Warner. This is the first time that Australia, which has won the ODI World Cup a record five times, has won the Twenty20 Cricket World Cup.

Maintaining the trend of toss winning teams chasing target in the competition, Australia went on to win the finals after winning the toss and electing to field first.. Australia lost two wickets in 18.5 overs and scored 173 runs. Left-handed batsman Warner, who has been in good touch throughout the tournament, scored an aggressive 53 off 38 balls. He hit 4 fours and 3 sixes. Warner shared a 92-run stand with Player of the Match Mitchell Marsh for the second wicket.

Warner was bowled by Trent Boult. Unbeaten Mars faced 50 balls and scored 77 runs. He struck six fours and four sixes. Australia's captain Aaron Finch scored just five runs. Glenn Maxwell remained unbeaten on 28 off 18 balls. Both wickets were taken by Boult. No other bowlers were impressive and everyone were quite expensive.

Earlier, after losing the toss, New Zealand lost 4 wickets in 20 overs and scored 172 runs. Skipper Kane Williamson top scored with 85 runs. He faced 48 balls and hit 10 fours and three sixes. He shared a useful 68-run stand with Glenn Phillips, who scored 18 runs. Phillips hit a four and a six in his 17-ball innings.

Warner was named Player of the Series. He scored 49 in the semi-final against Pakistan and 89 in the final of the Super 12 against the West Indies.

Match Summary :
Australia 173 for 2 (Marsh 77*, Warner 53)
New Zealand 172 for 4 (Williamson 85, Hazlewood 3-16)
by 8 wickets