EPL-3 Officially Sanctioned By ICC

EPL-3 Officially Sanctioned By ICC

Nepal's biggest franchise cricket league, EPL, has been officially sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC). EPL organizers permeated the news via press release.

According to the organisers, a whopping amount of $20,000 (NRs. 27,50,000) was submitted to the ICC along with the required documents. The paid amount will be utilized by the ICC for development of Nepali Cricket.

As a result of it, the participating teams of EPL can now welcome international players of other countries.

Irish international, Kevin O'Brien, was the first foreign player to be announced for this season of EPL & will represent Kathmandu Kings XI. Moreover, Scotland Captain Kyle Coetzer, UAE Captain Rohan Mustafa & Hong Kong Captain Anshuman Rath will be seen swinging their willows for Pokhara Rhinos, KKXI & Biratnagar Warriors respectively. Sikandar Raza, John Simpson, Mohammad Naveed, James Fuller, Ryan Ten Doeshchate are some other international stars who are also going to be a part of the tournament for various teams.

Nepal's greatest cricketing extravaganza, EPL will be contested between six franchises; Biratnagar Warriors, Bhairahawa Gladiators, Pokhara Rhinos, Chitwan Rhinos, Kathmandu Kings XI & Lalitpur Patriots.

The last edition of the tournament was won by Paras Khadka-led Warriors who pipped the Vesawkar-led Gladiators by 1 run in the nail-biting finale.

Ananta Wagle

A Cricket Fan