SA20: Squads of all the team after the Auction

September 20, 2022 | Rahul Shriwastav

Cricket South Africa's (CSA) newly formed SA20 league will hold its maiden edition in six South African cities in January-February 2023. The event, which is the latest and most ambitious attempt by the CSA to develop its successful T20 league, is subsidized by IPL's billion-dollar business giants.

All six teams are owned by IPL franchise owners and are based in various cricketing centres around the rainbow coalition.

Before the convoy arrives on the field, these six teams engaged in an equally feverish bidding war in Cape Town on Sept 19, with the tournament auction offering them the chance to finalize their various squads. The auction was overseen by CSA, and each SA20 franchise received an R34 million-rand purse.

Teams were limited to five pre-auction signings for the league's debut season, despite which 533 players were auctioned off during the SA20 auction in Cape Town. Teams had to fill 17-man squads for the competition, with the league allowing a maximum of seven international players.

The squad of all six teams after the auction :

1. MI Cape Town

Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis, Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Delano Potgieter, Odean Smith, Waqar Salamkheil, Ziyaad Abrahams, Wesley Marshall, Olly Stone, Grant Roelofsen

2. Durban's Super Giants:

Quinton de Kock, Prenelan Subrayen, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Dwaine Pretorius, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, Dilshan Madushanka, Johnson Charles, Matthew Breetzke, Christiaan Jonker, Wiaan Mulder, Simon Harmer

3. Johannesburg Super Kings:

Faf du Plessis, Gerald Coetzee, Maheesh Theekshana, Romario Shepherd, Harry Brook, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, George Garton, Alzarri Joseph, Leus Du Plooy, Lewis Gregory, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donovan Ferreira, Malusi Siboto, Caleb Seleka

4. Paarl Royals:

David Miller, Corbin Bosch, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jason Roy, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Mitchell Van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe, Imraan Manack, Ferisco Adams, Evan Jones, Ramon Simmonds, Eoin Morgan, Codi Yusuf

5. Pretoria Capitals:

Anrich Nortje, Miguel Pretorius, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Wayne Parnell, Josh Little, Shaun Von Berg, Adil Rashid, Cameron Delport, Will Jacks, Theunis De Bruyn, Marco Marais, Jimmy Neesham, Kusal Mendis, Daryn Dupavillon, Shane Dadswell

6: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, Jon-Jon Smuts, Jordan Cox, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Marques Ackerman, James Fuller, Brydon Carse, Sarel Erwee, Aya Gqamane, Tom Abell

Every team is star-studded. Who u think has the opportunity to win the Inaugural season of the competition?



The opinions presented here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily relfect the opinions of LetzCricket.