Analyzing India's squad for T20 World Cup

September 14, 2022 | LetzCricket Team

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced 15 man squad for the upcoming ICC T20 Cricket World Cup.

Skipper Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side which will have the services of experienced Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik. KL Rahul will be the deputy to Rohit.

The top order looks pretty strong for the men in blue. Captain Rohit along with KL Rahul form a solid opening pair. However, Rahul didn't had a great outing in recently concluded Asia Cup. Virat Kohli showed his excellence with his maiden T20 ton against Afghanistan but wasn't enough to guide India to finals of the Asia Cup. Rohit Sharma too hasn't been able to convert starts to big score in regular basis.

Also Read : Is there T20I cricket left for Mohammed Shami ?

Suryakumar Yadav will play a vital role for India in the tournament. Surya has been doing a decent job whenever and wherever he has batted till now. He can be used at any position based on the scenarios.

The crucial decision for the team shall be the choice among two wicketkeeper batsmen Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant. The way Karthik has been playing the role of a finisher, he certainly deserves a place in the playing eleven. Rishabh on the other hand, does bring that attacking mindset that India can utilize to great extent in the middle overs. The confusion of the choice between these two wicketkeepers was clearly observable in the recently concluded Asia cup.

Hardik Pandya is another vital member in this squad. Pandya is a great assets to any T20 side. He can bowl 4 quality overs and hit those big shots when required.

Experienced Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel will be the spinners in the side. Allrounder Ravindra Jadeja was very unfortunate to miss out from the squad. Jadeja suffered a knee injury and was ruled out of the Asia Cup midway through.

Jasprit Bumrah will lead the pace attack as he will look to have support from the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Arshdeep Singh. Bumrah and Harshal are making a comeback to national side while Arshdeep Singh didn't had a great time in recent Asia Cup.

India's Squad for T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (Captain)
KL Rahul (VC)
Virat Kohli
Suryakumar Yadav
Deepak Hooda
Rishabh Pant (WK)
Dinesh Karthik (WK)
Hardik Pandya
Ravichandran Ashwin
Yuzvendra Chahal
Axar Patel
Jasprit Bumrah
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Harshal Patel
Arshdeep Singh

Standby players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar