4 players from 2007 T20 World Cup squad who will also be a part of 2022 edition

September 19, 2022 | LetzCricket Team

The 8th edition of ICC Men's T20 World Cup is knocking the doors already. The tournament is scheduled to start from 16th October in Australia. When the inaugural edition was played back in 2007, no one would have expected this format of the game to dominate other formats in coming years.

As the cricket fraternity is gearing up for the upcoming edition of this mega event, we go through 4 cricketers who were a part of the squad in the frist edition of ICC Men's T20 world cup and will also be a participating in the upcoming 8th edition :

1. Sean Williams (Zimbabwe)

Sean Williams is a left handed batsman from Zimbabwe. Despite being in the squad in 2007, he didn't get a chance to feature in the playing eleven for Zimbabwe. Sean will be a crucial member for the team in 2022 edition if they want to show impressive performance in this tournament.

2. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

The left handed allrounder from Bangladesh Shakib Al Hasan will be leading the side. Shakib is one of the best allrounders in world cricket today and is a brilliant T20 cricketer. His experience and allround abilities in the cricket field will hold the key to success for Banglaesh side in this edition of T20 World cup. Shakib is also one of the players to have been a part of the squad in every edition of ICC Men's T20 World cup.

3. Dinesh Karthik (India)

The right handed wicketkeeper batsman from India, Dinesh Karthik was Man of the Match in the first ever T20 match of India. Karthik has been playing the role of finisher for Indian team and his performances in recent times has been very impressive. Karthik was considered in India's T20 squad after his brilliant performance as finisher in IPL. Despite being included in the squad, his place in playing eleven depends heavily on how India would use Rishabh Pant. Rishabh is also wicketkeeper and India are highly likely to go with one among Karthik or Pant in the playing eleven.

4. Rohit Sharma (India)

The current skipper of Indian cricket team, Rohit Sharma has come a long way across as far as his career is concerned. Rohit was in his early days when he participated in the inaugural edition. Now, he is leading the side and will be eager to come out victorious this time around. Rohit along with Shakib are the only two cricketers who have been a part of all edition of T20 world cups. Rohit would want to put aside the team's failure in recently concluded Asia Cup and start fresh in this edition of ICC Men's T20 World Cup.